From Manufacturers, Technology, Innovation and Honors

By November 18, 2010Innovation, Technology

Congratulations to the recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, honored by President Obama at the White House on Wednesday.

  • Harry W. Coover, Eastman Chemical Company, TN
    “For his invention of cyanoacrylates—novel adhesives known widely to consumers as ‘super glues’—which today play significant roles in medicine and industry.”
  • Helen M. Free, Miles Laboratories, IN
    “For her seminal contributions to diagnostic chemistry through development of dip-and-read urinalysis, which gave rise to a technological revolution in convenient, reliable, point-of-care tests and patient self-monitoring.”
  • Steven J. Sasson, Eastman Kodak Company, NY
    “For the invention of the digital camera, which has revolutionized the way images are captured, stored, and shared, creating new opportunities in commerce, education, and global communication.”
  • Federico Faggin, Marcian E. Hoff Jr., Stanley Mazor; Intel Corporation, CA
    “For the conception, design and application of the first microprocessor, which was commercially adopted and became the universal building block of digital electronic systems, significantly impacting the global economy and people’s day-to-day lives.”

The President’s remarks are available here. The White House ceremonies also honored the recipients of the National Medal of Science. You can watch the event here.

Leave a Reply