Senate Announces Manufacturing Caucus

By June 15, 2005General

Yesterday, Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC) and Hillary Clinton (D-NY) announced formation of a Senate Manufacturing Caucus to advance and study the issues and interests of manufacturers. We applauded the efforts of the two Senators in forming this group, welcome the attention on manufacturing, pledged to work with them. Also joining them as founding members of the Caucus were the following Senators: Sens. Evan Bayh(D-IN), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Tom Coburn(R-OK), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Norm Coleman (R-MN), Kent Conrad (D-ND), Mark Dayton (D-MN), Mike DeWine (R-OH), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Ted Kennedy (D-MA), Ben Nelson (D-NE), Barack Obama (D-IL), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Arlen Specter (R-PA), and Debbie Stabenow (D-MI).

At the end of the day, however, as John Engler said in our press release on the topic, the best indicator of a Senator’s dedication to manufacturing, its health and continued longevity is the NAM Vote Rating. We have a key vote coming up this week on energy, for example, and one coming up on CAFTA soon. After that, there is the agenda we’ve been working on: asbestos, the highway bill, Clear Skies and Telecomm. At the end of the day, while we welcome the attention, we hope we’ll be able to count on these founding members of the Caucus to support manufacturers on issues that directly impact our ability to compete.